Interview with Paige Ellean…Owner/Creator of TLC Naturals


I am so excited to bring you this interview with Paige Ellean, Owner/Creator of TLC Naturals!! A little over a year ago I wanted to find out about the Natural Hair scene in London and I came across Care4Curls and was intrigued by this beautiful Naturalista and her hair.  She had some much valuable information to share and then I learned she had a product line.  Next thing I knew I was ordered the entire product line, quickly Paige Ellean and I became Curl Sisters!!

Paige is helping me to celebrate my birthday by sponsoring a give away of 2 of my favorite Grow It Juice and the Shea Baobab Oil and took time out of her busy schedule for me to interview her.  I will announce the details of the give away tomorrow stay posted!!

The lovely Paige Ellean

Hello Paige Ellean!! Tell us a little about yourself, where are you from?

Hello Allison. My name is Paige Ellean & I am from London, UK. I am also a natural & curly hair enthusiast, blogger at Care4Curls.Com, natural product formulator and owner of TLC Naturals.

How long have you been Natural? Did you transition or big chop? What lead to your decision to become Natural?

Paige Ellean:  I big chopped in December 2009 after several unsuccessful attempts to transition? If I had known then what I know about caring for natural hair & transitioning hair, it would have made the process a lot easier.  My decision to embrace my natural hair was the ultimate result of me embracing a more wholesome and natural lifestyle overall, in terms of what I put in body, as well as on my skin and hair.

What is your hair routine like?

Paige Ellean:  LOL! I always thought that the longer my hair got, the more complicated my hair routine would be. That seems to be the opposite for me. My hair routine is so much simpler as it gets longer. I think the use of high quality products really does make a difference to the health of the hair, which means that you do not need to do so much to it…if that makes any sense.

What made you create TLC Naturals?

Paige Ellean:  TLC Naturals was born as a result of my quest to embrace a more natural, chemical-free lifestyle. Having suffered for many years all sorts of skin and scalp inflammations, as well as hair problems, I set off to make my own chemical-free hair and skin creations.
It is a well-known fact that we absorb over 70% of what we apply to our hair and skin within less than 30 seconds. Many commercial products and cosmetics contained chemicals and I decided that if I am not willing to put it in my body, I will not be putting it on my body, hair or scalp either. This is how TLC Naturals came to be.

The products are practically edible hair care products made in small batches, using traditional methods and made from the finest organic food grade ingredients, which are very rich in antioxidants, nutrients and minerals – all of which are extremely beneficial to the health and beauty of the hair.
It is much better to absorb these nutrients and anti-oxidants via the hair and scalp, than absorbing petrochemicals, mineral oil, silicones, sulfates, carcinogens and other toxic chemicals found in so many commercial products out there.

Are you products available in retail locations in the UK & the US?

Paige Ellean:  Not yet. The products are only currently available online at www.tlcnaturalsonline.com. However, I ship internationally, including to the USA.
Do you see a lot similarity between the Natural Scene in the UK particularly London and the US? Do you see a lot of women embracing their Natural hair in London?

Paige Ellen:  I would say that the natural hair scene in the UK is a new and growing phenomenon in comparison to the US.

One more question…What advice do you have for newly naturals?

Paige Ellean: Always listen to your hair and do what is best for your hair in terms of the products you use and the hair care techniques you practise. What may work for many may not work for you. A great example is the issue of protective styling. Protective styling works great for the vast majority of naturals, however for some of us with fine & delicate hair strands, such as myself; it might be such a good thing. I learnt that the hard way.

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Paige Ellean…Owner/Creator of TLC Naturals

  1. Paige-Ellean says:

    Reblogged this on Care 4 Curls and commented:
    My Interview with Allie of The Natural Hair Community…….plus an upcoming giveaway

Leave a Reply

