Updated routine & staple products


A few months ago I did an article about my routine & staple products.  I am now 18 months into my natural hair journey and as my scalp became healthier so did my hair and some of the products that I used before no longer work on my hair.  I’ve decided to update my hair routine for you along with my staple products.

Staple Products:  Water, Ayurvedic herbs & powders, Terressentials Mud Wash, Rhassoul Clay, Reve’ Essentials Hair & Body Moisturizing Creme, Healing Hair Butter by Texture Me Natural, Whipfinity by Land of Pure, Mas Humidad, L.A.C.E. (Ladies Always Create Excitement), Darcy’s Botanicals Pumpkin Seed Conditioner, Tresemme Curl Hydration, Grapeseed & Sweet Almond  & Jamaican Black Castor Oils, peppermint, lavender, lemongrass Essential Oils.

Hair Tools:  Fingers, widetooth comb, old t-shirts, spritz bottles.

Before bed, I spritz my hair using my tea rinse then I massage my scalp with JBCO (Jamaican Black Castor Oil) & an essential oil for 15-20 mins (every night).  The massage stimulates my scalp’s natural sebum oil, encouraging blood circulation to the follicles, releasing nutrients to my scalp and hair.

Every 3-4 days I will co-wash my hair using my version of the Curly Girl Method and I use the Tresemme Curl Hydration Conditionerwith this product,  I find that I get great slip and I can also use as a leave-in .  I will use the LOC Method..LOC = Liquid, Oil, Cream to seal in the moisture to my hair…Liquid is water or tea rinse, Oil-Carrier oil, Cream some type of shea butter mixture to help keep moisture in my hair.  Doing this I have found that I can go 3-4 days without having to moisturize my hair.  If it does feel dry I will spritz my hair again using my Ayurvedic tea.  I try to keep my hair in twist or braids for less manipulation and I wear my hair out on Sunday or if I have an appointment.  If I need to moisturize I just spritz my twist/braids.

When I remove my twist, I use butter/oil on my hands to eliminate frizz and use my fingers to separate my twist and style. Every 2 weeks I do a Cassia Obovata treatment to condition my hair, the recipe is posted in this section as well and deep condition after my cassia treatment. The other 2 weeks I use a mixture of the different Ayurvedic Powders in my pantry to cleanse, strengthen.

The great thing about Ayurvedic Powders is that you can combine them to accomplish your desired goal.  Example, Hibiscus or  Marshmallow Root are great for conditioning and giving you added slip, you can use them in a tea rinse  to aid in detangling.  Amla, Brahmi, Bhringraj, Shikakai are great for growth, cleansing and strengthen.  Amla can also be used on your skin to help with Eczema & Psorasis.

I have learned that I am protein sensitive, so I make sure to read the ingredients of products to see if the words protein, amino acids, collagen appear if they do I will leave the product on the shelf.  To know if you are protein sensitive, after using a protein treatment or something containing protein your hair will feel course & straw like.

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

