Silicate & Silicone Hair Products: The Real Dirt reposted from Naturally Curly


I have taken another look at products that contain silicones.  When I first became natural I decided that I would not use anything that had the word “cone” in the ingredients.  Now I am revisiting my position.  As my hair grows it is also changing.  Some products I used in the beginning of my journey no longer work for me. 

I don’t use shampoo, however, I do use Tresemme Curl Hydration Conditioner and it does contain silicones but my hair responds to it.  In the last 6 months I have tried almost every natural hair conditioner on the market and my hair was dry, dull.  So I tried the Curl Hydration and my hair has been taken to another level.

I am not the Natural Hair Police and I will not tell you don’t use this or that…Use what works for you and DO NOT let anyone make you feel guilty for your choice….Your Hair, Your choice!!

http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlreading/curly-hair-care-methods/no-poo/silicones-no-poo/silicate-silicone-hair-products-the-real-dirtS

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Silicate & Silicone Hair Products: The Real Dirt reposted from Naturally Curly

  1. She Natural says:

    Great article and I totally agree with you. My hair seems to respond better with the cones. It’s got a healthy shine and Is much more manageable since I’ve gone back to the cones.

  2. Silicones really do provide so many good benefits to how your hair looks. While I do work for a silicone manufacturer (full disclosure) I’ve used products that do contain them and products that don’t and I’ve got to say, my hair looks better using ones that do. I think silicones get an unjust bad reputation. Thanks for being an advocate!

Leave a Reply

