Are you Protein Sensitive?


I’m sorry I’ve been away for so long.  I just graduated from college last week with my BS in Nursing.  Yaay!!! I had been doing my clinical rotation and studying  for my finals and you know how that can be.

I get a lot of questions about protein treatments and I can’t really say that I use them with the exception of one time when my hair was limp and had no luster.  So I made my DIY treatment and I had great results.  So the next month I did another and my hair felt horrible.  What happened?  I realized that my hair is protein sensitive.  How did I know? When I used my DIY protein treatment my hair felt coarse, dry and straw-like. I do not use protein in my hair routine anymore because my body produces enough and I get plenty of protein in my diet from foods like meat and dairy etc.  Good thing I paid attention in Anatomy class!!

Hair is made up of keratin a form of protein.  Protein latches onto the hair’s surface and forms a layer that helps retain moisture.   Read the labels on the products you use, if you see these keywords:  keratin, collagen, elastin or amino acid leave the product on the shelf.  If you make up your own protein treatments, eggs, coconut milk and yogurt are all culprits.

Generally if your hair feels limp, you probably are in need of a protein treatment. To test whether or not you need protein; a strand test is the way to go. Start with a damp or wet head of hair and give it a little tug. If your hair stretches a bit then resists your hair is in good balance. If it stretches and stretches then snaps, you are in need of protein. If it stretches a tad & breaks cut back on the protein.

Healthy hair will not need a protein treatment so you may never need it. I’ve learned there is no cure and I avoid products with protein in them if possible; but by doing my due diligence and making my own products I can control what I put into them, thereby lessening the change of protein overload.

BTW, I have a new YouTube Channel called nawlincurly and if you didn’t know I also have a Facebook page called Natural Hair Community.  I hope you all will subscribe and like!!

I will attach the links below!!
https://www.facebook.com/nawlinsnatural?ref=tn_tnmn
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4KzTZoYymM&feature=context-chv

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Are you Protein Sensitive?

  1. Vashti P says:

    Great post Allie 🙂

  2. Fayla says:

    Good info & CONGRATS on ur Nursing degree that is AWESOME!!!

  3. Lakeisha says:

    Great article and Congrats on your Nursing degree!!!

Leave a Reply

