When will my hair grow?


In talking with many newly Naturalista, I found they have one thing in common; the instant fix for beautiful long healthy natural hair.  There is no quick fix you must have patience when wearing your hair in its natural state, it’s very fragile.  I learned that after buying just about every product recommended for natural hair, if my hair and scalp was not healthy, no matter what products I applied to it would not make my hair long, shiny and healthy.

The best piece of advice I have for newly naturals is MOISTURE, MOISTURE, and MOISTURE!!!  Drinking plenty of water, and sealing in the moisture to your hair is so important.  Products that work for some will not necessarily work for you.

When I stopped looking for the quick fix and actually researched and learned about my natural hair, I found that natural products work best for me.  In my case the products that promised to elongate your curl pattern or give you coils were just an expensive waste of money. 

My hair was extremely dry and hard after my big chop; I started co-washing my hair three times a week followed by deep conditioning once a week.  I did this for the first 3 months after my big chop.  Whenever, my hair felt dry during the day, I pulled out my spritz bottler and moisturized it.  I had the ah-ha moment and realized my hair was different now and had to treat it accordingly.

At five months into my hair journey I started increasing my water intake, eating healthier & started exercising and incorporating Ayurvedic products into my hair regiment.  When I looked into the mirror at seven months I noticed my hair was growing and how thick it was.  From my previous blog, you know that I love Ayurvedic products.  I use only natural products, I do nightly scalp massage for about 20 minutes and I use products that are in my kitchen.  Doing things has made my scalp & hair healthy. Again, a healthy scalp & hair are your goal; the growth will come from that.

At 13 months natural, I do not have shoulder length hair, but I see the growth from the photo journal I keep.  I take a picture each month and think how healthy my hair is!! The growth will come because my hair & scalp are healthy.

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When will my hair grow?

  1. Michelle G says:

    Water intake is definitely important. I know that my hair grows at a super fast rate and people always ask why. I tell them part of it is diet and part is genetics. They say well I eat well and then I ask them well do you drink water. I usually get a not really. I pretty much only drink water so I think this plays a huge role in the health and condition of my hair.

  2. Fayla says:

    Great article! Everything u wrote was on point. Photo journals are very important to track ur growth with bc looking at urself in the mirror everyday it’s hard to “see” the growth. but photo tracking is proof in the pudding. Thanks Allie!!!

Leave a Reply

