The importance of pH testing and natural hair


With hair (and particularly natural hair), it’s important to maintain a proper pH balance of 4.5 to 5.5 for your hair.  pH is a medical term that describes the balance of your system and it refers to the condition of metabolic changes.  It technically stands for “potential for hydrogen ion concentration.”  Your body’s natural pH balance can be affected by the types of food you eat.  For example, a woman’s body should maintain a pH balance that averages to 6.5 (but no more than 7.5).  Drinking purified water will neutralize your pH balance.

 Just like your body and skin, your hair’s pH balance is affected by numerous factors, particularly the products you use.  I was once told by a hair dresser that it is important to switch up some of your products after 90 to 180 days because your hair becomes tolerant.  She said that tolerant hair = a dull and dry look/feel.  I COMPLETELY DISAGREE.

Before doing my own research, I would constantly change my hair products hoping to get away from the dull and dry look.  What I now realize is that the constant switching of products with different pH balances was the cause for the dull and dry look/feel.  Essentially, changing your products could potentially change your hair’s natural pH balance from one extreme to the other (alkaline to acidic) and back again.

So how do you know if your hair product is hurting your hair?  TEST IT OUT! Many products have their pH number on the bottom of the bottle.  If not, you can simply test the product by purchasing a testing kit.  Happy testing!

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

