There is no Quick Fix for Healthy Hair


In talking with many newly naturals I found they have one thing in common; the instant fix for beautiful healthy natural hair.  There is no quick fix you must have patience when wearing your hair in its natural state.  I learned that after buying just about every product on the market for natural hair, if my hair was not healthy no matter what products I applied to it would not make my hair shining and healthy.

The best piece of advice I have for newly naturals is ask for advice from “older” naturals.  The advice I’ve received was MOISTURE, MOISTURE, and MOISTURE!!!  Drinking plenty of water, adding water to your daily regime and sealing in the moisture to your hair with natural oils worked.

When I stopped looking for the quick fix and actually research and learned about my natural hair, I found what products work for me and what did not.  In my case the products that promised to elongate your curl pattern or give you coils were just an expensive waste of money.

My hair was extremely dry after the big chop I learned that I needed to co wash my hair, using conditioner only  at least three times a week followed by  deep conditioning once a week.  I co-washed for the first 3 months after my big chop.  Whenever, my hair felt dry during the day, I put water on it.  I stayed away from products that I used when I had a relaxer because hair was different. 

I went to YouTube for advice; I found great pages on Facebook like:  I Love My Kinky Curly Natural Hair, Natural Beauties and my all time favorite, All Things O’Natural.  Social networking helped me so much as I was able to ask questions and the ladies on these community pages had the same experiences that I was going through and were always eager to help.  When told something would not work, listen to them as they have experienced of something not working.

Everyone’s hair is different; I have 4b which means my curls are tighter; however, my hair is so healthy and soft because I hydrate from the inside as well as the outside.  I drink at least 8 glasses of water every day, I do not use shampoos with sulfates or silicones as they dry the hair and I switched to all natural products for shine and growth.  I also take a multi-vitamin; give myself scalp massages to stimulate my hair growth.

Most importantly I ask questions!!  Here is a YouTube video for Transitioners that will also help with those who are going through the natural hair process and also for ladies who did the big chop.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QIg-lWr8C8Y&feature=related

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There is no Quick Fix for Healthy Hair

  1. Justice Jones says:

    I love this…its so true!

  2. Reblogged this on Nawlins Natural and commented:

    I think this is an important blog to repost again!!

Leave a Reply

