One year anniversary as a Naturalista!!


Yesterday I celebrated my 1 year anniversary as a Naturalista!! 

I went to Sally’s Beauty and purchased a leave-in conditioner that I heard about called Mixed Silk, by Silk Elements, this product is made for Naturals and Eco Styler with Olive Oil.

I washed my hair using my Giovanni Deep Moisture shampoo, followed by conditioned with aloe vera mixture I mentioned in my blog a few days ago.   I used the Mixed Silk leave-in conditioner to detangle. 

After detangling with my wide tooth comb, I applied Natty Moist and Natty Butter and Eco Style to two-strand twist my hair.  I then used my hair cutting scissors and the trimming chart that I posted and cut off the old growth of my hair.

With all of the product on my hair it took most of the night for my hair to dry.  I had never used Eco Styler before and was worried that I might have a flaky mess on my hands; however, my hair is so soft and very manageable.

This was the first time since my B/C I had cut my hair so cutting off of those splits ends has made a huge difference.  I was not worried about losing length as cutting the ends would result in a healthier head of hair.

I like the Mixed Silk leave-in conditioner as this product’s first ingredient is water which is very important to a Naturalista. My normal morning routine is to spritz my hair with a water & avocado oil and bergamot mint essential oil mixture, but this morning I did not need to so as again it so soft and actually very shiny.

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One year anniversary as a Naturalista!!

  1. Allison, I LOVE Mixed Silk Deep Conditioner! That is my 3rd choice if I dont have Natty Moist, or Miss Jessie’s Sweetback! Happy Napparversary Doll!!

    • when I used it with the Eco Styler I was so surprised at how defined my hair was. Actually this was the first time since going natural that I have used the gel. I figured now I would actually start trying different product since my hair is well conditioned with the natural oils. I love the results with the Mixed!

  2. BTW, thanks next I’m going to try the Miss Jessie’s they are giving samples away at the Natural Hair Show in Houston next weekend!

Leave a Reply

