Staples products that I can’t be without


Water:  Keeps my hair moisturized and nourished.  Good for your body as well enough said.

Shampoo & Conditioner:  Giovanni Deep Moisture Smooth as Silk.  It makes my hair soft and increases the shine to my hair without making it frizzy.  It contains zero sulfates and silicones.  The first ingredient is water which is something you always want.

Natty Moist:  Made by All Things O’Natural.  I use this as my conditioner, deep conditioner and styling aid.  It contains Ayurvedic Herbal Infused Water, essential oils.  Ayurvedic herbs that help hair health include Eclipta alba and Gotu Kola. Eclipta alba is called “Bhringaraj” — literally, king of tresses. It nourishes the hair and helps resistance to stress as well. Brahmi, sometimes called Gotu Kola, also helps balance the mind and nourishes the hair and scalp. Since Ayurveda considers the health, color and luster of hair so dependent on overall mind/body health, synergistic Ayurvedic herbal preparations for hair can also include herbs such as Country Mallow, which is supposed to strengthen the physiology, and Winter Cherry, which aids resistance to stress.

Natty Butter:  Made by All Things O’Natural:  I use this when two strand twisting my hair.  It contains Shea Butter, Mango Butter, Castor, Almond, Tea Tree oils and Peppermint Oil also has the Ayuvedic herbal blend.

Essential Oils:  Caraway, Bergamot, Peppermint, these all stimulate hair growth.  I use 4-5 drops of each in a mixture of jojoba oil or extra virgin coconut oil to massage my scalp every evening for about 15 minutes.  I place the mixture on my fingertips and massage starting at my temple then across my forehead then moving to the crown & the back of my hair.  Never massage in a circle as this will cause your hair to tangle.

Carrier Oil:  Extra Virgin Coconut, Jojoba oils are my favorites.  Coconut oil is used as a natural conditioner for hair. The molecular structure of coconut oil makes it easier to penetrate through the hair shaft and works with the natural hair proteins. Coconut oil is also used to treat conditions like dry scalp or fungal conditions like seborrheic dermatitis that cause itchy flakes.

Ordinary shampoo formulation results in protein loss during washing. Coconut oil can minimize protein loss, as it contains the medium-chain triglycerides that can pass through the cell membrane and waterproof the scalp and hair.

Working jojoba oil into the scalp increases the moisture content of both the hair and the skin of the scalp. According to worldofhair.com this promotes hair growth.
Shea Butter:  I use this as a base for all of my oil mixtures, my measurements are strictly to my liking no particular amount used.  Shea Butter provides moisture to dry or damaged hair from the roots to the very tips, repairing and protecting against weather damage, dryness and brittleness.  It also absorbs quickly and completely into the scalp to rehydrate without clogging pores.  It is particularly beneficial for processed and heat-treated hair.  It is an excellent treatment for dry scalp. It restores luster to damaged hair. For this reason, Shea Butter is an excellent ingredient in hair moisturizers, shampoos and conditioners

Wide Tooth Comb:  I use this to detangle my hair starting from the ends working my way up to the roots.

Bentonite Clay Mask: to remove product buildup, impart sheen and enhance curl pattern.

You can find Natty Moist and Natty Butter at www.livingthenattylifestyle.com

Giovanni products can be found at Target or Whole Foods

Carrier & Essential oils can be found at any health food store, Whole Foods.  I purchase some at Mountain Rose Herb Company.  Bentonite Clay Mask can also be purchased at Whole Foods or Mountain Rose Herb Company.

Shea Butter may be purchased at any health food store or beauty supply.

Please see my previous blogs on how to use the Bentonite Clay Mask, Carrier & Essential Oils

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

