What type of hair regime do you folllow?


When I became natural I asked all kinds of questions on how to take care of my hair.  What type of shampoo and conditioner can I use? why is my hair so dry?  I found there were so many products available that I quickly became a product junkie and spent lots of money on products that did not work for me.  I wondered why other naturals hair look so healthy and moisturized and my hair looked like a dry hot mess!

Here are some tips that I’ve found that have helped me attain healthy hair.  Use a shampoo that is sulfate and silicone free as they will make your hair dry.  A sulfate is a surfactant which will interact with the surface of your hair never penetrating down to the root.  You want to look for products that are all natural.  

In talking with several beauticians, I found conditioning is the key.  Conditioners should be a water based product, in other words the first ingredient when you look at the label should say water or aqua, this will help seal moisture in your hair. Moisture is very important in natural hair as it is very fragile, your hair will naturally shed about 50-100 strands per day.  Buy a great leave-in conditioner as this will help in the detangling of your hair. 

Never use a comb on dry hair this will cause breakage.  If you use a comb make sure it’s a wide tooth comb or a denman brush, again making sure you hair is slightly damp or wet.  I use my wide tooth comb when I wash my hair starting at the ends and working my way to the root.

When I first did my b/c my hair was extremely dry.  For the first few months of your cut, you will want to co-wash (wash only with conditioner) at least twice a week and deep condition once a week.  When conditioning make sure your start at the roots and work your way to the end of your hair as the end is the oldest & driest part hair.

When I first cut my hair I carried a spray bottle filled with distilled water, leave-in conditioner and some type of carrier oil such as avocado, jojoba, coconut or extra virgin olive oil and when my hair became dry during the day, I would spray it and work the mixture into my hair.

You also want to seal the moisture into your hair.  To seal in the moisture, use a spray bottle you can get at your local beauty supply.  I fill mine with distilled water (not tap water, harsh chemicals in the water can be damaging) and your choice of oils (you can also add leave-in conditioner).  I use this mixture in my hair every morning.  I have a second bottle that I use in the evenings, filled with distilled water, shea butter, my choice of oils with a few drops of the peppermint oil.  I massage my scalp for 15 minutes, as this helps with circulation and growth, but again seals moisture into my hair.  Then I two-strand twist my hair to protect against breakage.

If you haven’t noticed, I emphasize moisture, moisture, moisture.  If you haven’t started already, increase your own water intake this also helps to hydrate not only your body but your hair as well.  I also am a big fan of essential and carrier oils which I will highlight later in my blog.

I hope this information helps, please let me know what other topics I may be able to assist you with.

Always think something wonderful is going to happen to you!!

About nawlins natural

Looking to share my natural hair journey. I have been natural for 2yrs and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enjoy learning different techniques of how to care for my natural hair. I believe in the most high power, Jesus Christ and maintain a positive outlook for my life. My motto is "Something wonderful is going to happen!" Please follow me on Twitter @allierucks my Facebook Page Natural Hair Community
This entry was posted in Natural Hair Care. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

